4th of July Firework Information for El Paso County

Jul 3, 2024 - 2:30pm

Due to the recent rain and precipitation, the El Paso County Sheriff's Office has not issued a fire ban for unincorporated El Paso County. Nor has the Board of County Commissioners issued a firework ban.

Depending on where you live or are planning to celebrate in El Paso County, certain types of fireworks may be permitted, such as sparklers, snakes, fountains, tanks, smoke bombs, wheels, and ground spinners.

Those living or visiting municipalities and special fire districts have the responsibility to check if those individual jurisdictions have issued their own restrictions.

For example, the City of Colorado Springs has banned all fireworks.

A good rule of thumb: anything capable of exploding or leaves the ground are illegal in Colorado.

“On Independence Day, we honor the freedoms our forefathers sacrificed their lives for—freedoms which form the foundation of the greatest country in the world.

This July 4th, whether you are celebrating at home or elsewhere, celebrate responsibly. The Wildland Fire Team will be on mobile patrol and my deputies will be on the roads holding those who drive under the influence, putting others at risk, accountable.”
– Sheriff Joseph Roybal

MR 24-041

Office of the Sheriff

27 East Vermijo Avenue
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
United States

719-520-7100 / 719-390-5555 (after hours)

El Paso County Jail

2739 East Las Vegas Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80906
United States